RME ADI-8 DS MKIII opamp

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

andow

A few days ago I noticed that the first channel of the AD converter stopped working on my ADI-8. I narrowed the problem down to a 4580 opamp which has input signal present, but no output. I guess swapping this chip will fix the problem!
The problem is, I can't find this exact chip (see attachment) - does somebody know where I can get these? And could I also use another 4580 without this channel differing from the others?
I'm not really experienced with SMD stuff... (I will get the chip and let a colleague do the soldering.)

Attachments

• 20181016_004103.jpg
    20181016_004103.jpg
    457 KB · Views: 26
That looks like a TSSOP-8 so I don't think you're going to find a good alternative. I wouldn't use anything else anyway. The 4580 is a good OA. Mouser and Digikey have them.

The real problem is that it could be tricky to get that off without damaging the underlying traces. I would either put a ton of extra leaded solder on and move the iron tip back and forth while trying to lift that side with tweezers. Worst case scenario would be to very carefully cut the leads with a utility knife.

Thanks for your help!

I guess I wasn't clear, of course I found a 4580 at Mouser. I just don't know if these are the EXACT chips that are used in the RME, and I really would like to replace it with the same one.
Can you tell me what E161F means?

@squarewave: Actually I won't replace it myself, as I have limited experience with SMD stuff. And this really looks tricky! I'll find someone who can replace the chip for me.
RME wants 250€ as a lump sum for repairs, which is a lot if it's really just one opamp...

andow said:
Can you tell me what E161F means?

It's most likely a manufacturing code.... Like lot/batch date, etc..... I'm not sure what's what in regards to this particular chip....