Harrison 32/32 76' 2-channel box project

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

NitzanH

Hello all!

Let me start by already apologising for any dumb question I might bother you with in the very near future.
I have very limited knowledge about electronics but am very excited to start working on my 'winter project'. I'm mainly a musician/composer and I run a recording studio. At this time the studio is built around a Neotek Elan II desk, which I am very fond of. The previous desk we used was a Harrison built in '76 which turned out to be a prototype when we started recapping the desk back in 2007 (we were told so by a German technician who owned a 32 desk himself). Unfortunately the desk seemed to have had several issues in the past and it was quite difficult to get the master section working again. Eventually we got it to work but within a few years decided to switch to the Neotek console.

At that time I hard-wired 16 of the Harrison channel-strips, threw out the entire frame of the desk and was very happy to have 16 working pre's/EQ's & Filters and 16 spare channels. Recently I received several requests about wether I would be interested in selling some of my spare channels and if it would possible to build them into a two channel box with it's own power supply.  I have very limited knowledge of electronics, just enough to figure out how to hard wire the channels, but I figured it might be a nice challenge and I could learn a bit more about electronics along the way if I build the boxes myself.

At this point I'm figuring out where I can cut PCB's of the channelstrips in order to make the channels fit into a 19" housing and I've started to look into the power supply. The desk used a +24v / -24v and a +18v / - 18v circuit where it seemed the 18v circuit was for the LINE A return circuit and the rest of the desk operated on the 24v circuit.