Best Resistor Companies for Audio Gear

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jacob Sowell

Hey, I'm a newbie, so I'm still watching YT vids about basic electronics.  I just started learning about resistors and how to tell the difference.  I went online and found a bunch of different materials and compositions.  What material and/or composition is best for audio, and who makes the best quality?

Jacob Sowell said:
Hey, I'm a newbie, so I'm still watching YT vids about basic electronics.  I just started learning about resistors and how to tell the difference.  I went online and found a bunch of different materials and compositions.  What material and/or composition is best for audio, and who makes the best quality?
Most other components have more impact on path quality than resistors.

JR

In the vast majority of cases metal film reistors are all you need. In a small number of cases, wire wound types may prove better.

Cheers

Ian

one company I did some work for would use a specific company of resistor. I never noticed a difference in sound and when I inquired why we use that brand I was told it's because the print the resistor value in numbers on it vs color code. It's easier to read that way.

pucho812 said:
one company I did some work for would use a specific company of resistor. I never noticed a difference in sound and when I inquired why we use that brand I was told it's because the print the resistor value in numbers on it vs color code. It's easier to read that way.

That is a great idea. Now that resistors are smaller and have a huge number of bands on them they are becoming hard to read with these old eyes. What was the name of the company?

Cheers

Ian

Surely there must be an iPhone app that uses the camera to scan a resistor colour code & display the value on screen?

Nick Froome

ruffrecords said: