[ ultra newbie ] adding switchable transformers BBC AM7/4B line amps

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dinosaw

As the title suggests, I'm an ultra newbie, the most complicated electronics project I've done is wire a stratocaster with a diagram or replace the speakers in a guitar amp. Please let me know if there is a more appropriate newbie section where I should post this.

Sooo I bought these germanium pres that the BBC made in the 60s - balanced in and out. I'm unable to read the schematic here:

http://www.bbceng.info/ti/eqpt/AM7_4.pdf

but I can see that the input impedance is 600 ohms and the output is 55 ohms.  The pres sound great but they aren't very high bandwidth and their noise floor is on the higher side.  I thought maybe I could add very high quality input and output transformers to get more bandwidth, then make them switchable so I could switch between them and the stock ones like an eq lift.

I would have this done by a professional but as I go I want to understand something about the process so I have a few questions.  I was on Sowter's webpage looking at input transformers and noticed the 1364 EMI TDS5383 input transformer - it doesn't specify whether it's mic or line - could it be both?  It says it's a replacement for an EMI germanium console and can be tapped at 600 ohms, which is the input impedance of the BBC pres I bought - does it mean that I can use it? 

http://www.sowter.co.uk/cgi-bin/sh000001.pl?WD=emi&PN=VINTAGE-RECORDING-AMPLIFIER-TRANSFORMERS-A-to-K%2ehtml#a530

There are input and output transformer sets that would seem to match the impedance of the pre, such as those made for variations of the API 312 - is it possible to just pick transformer combinations out of the blue like that if they match my pre's impedance?