Curve Tracer Schematic

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Those "component analyzer" gadgets are handy--I built two similar devices for my own use when I was a bench tech. Although they do show a V-I curve, the term "curve tracer" is usually reserved for a more sophisticated device that provides stepped base/gate/grid drive among other features.

Here's somebody's marked-up copy of the Heathkit IT-3121 schematic

Somewhere, I have the manual for this as well as a curve tracer made by BK. Both the Heath and the BK display on an external scope. The king of the semiconductor curve tracers was the Tek 576, but I don't think you'll want to DIY one of those.

If you give some detail about your application, that'll make it easier to recommend something.

Thanks for the replies. I want to be able to check power transistors with up to 300V rating, so I should have a PIV adjustment of up to 350V or so. As well I want to be able to compare transistors for matching gain between devices. Mostly power transistors.

This project is spurred on by the fact that I bought a bunch of counterfeit Motorola power transistors, MJ15025's. I must have spent an additional 10 hours trying to find why the outputs were failing in a power amp I was rebuilding. I want to test devices now before putting them into service.

Bill, it sounds like you could use homemade jigs to run the tests you need. For breakdown voltage, you'd need a current-limited variable high voltage supply. For gain matching (AC or DC), a simple amplifier circuit in which you can easily vary the terminal voltages, and a voltmeter to measure the gain.

"Bill, it sounds like you could use homemade jigs to run the tests you need. For breakdown voltage, you'd need a current-limited variable high voltage supply."