Preamp Kit Collaboration

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hamishb

Hey everyone, first post here. I'm a recording engineer from England and I also run the Somewhere Sound podcast, interviewing people such as Butch Vig, Ken Scott, Al Schmitt, Steve Albini and soon David Gilmour. I got directed to post here by a few people after asking round some other audio building groups.

I'm looking for someone to collaborate with to design some preamps with from the ground up as part of another side of my recording business. It would be 500 series preamps mainly available as kits. Whilst I have some technical knowledge, my skills are as a recording engineer, and I'm not anywhere near knowledgable enough to get into designing preamps from scratch.

As this would be quite an involved project and also it would be a partnership rather than me employing someone, I'm definitely not expecting it to be the right project for everyone, because I'm sure many people won't have the time to invest without being specifically paid for the development phase. I have ideas for some preamps I'd like to see in production which I'll get into in more depth with people who are interested. What I can offer in the partnership is lots of contacts within the audio industry to get the products up and running, as well as the ideas for designs I already have obviously. I'm perfectly happy for the other person to take the lions share of the profit from it, as I'm doing it for a love of audio rather than to personally make money from.

Ideally, I'm looking for someone passionate who is currently a hobbyist but would like to get further into the professional world of it. I'm very keen to make sure it's worthwhile for the other person involved because I'm aware it's a large undertaking.