Trasformerless (class A) DOA mic preamp - design discussion

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Aleguitarpro

Hi.

I'm mainly a musician and my interest in building/studying designs is to know what fits best my needs.

I tried a lot of preamps recording in studios, thanks to friends, building my own etc.

I'm a classical guitar player and I record for friends and colleagues classical music and acoustic instruments mainly.

I tried following preamps/design:

NEVE 1073 style preamps (a lot of models/clones...)
API 312 /my own clones and originals
THAT based preamps (my build)

CHANDLER (germanium, LTD1, TG2)

Avalon (737, m5, 2022)

Millennia HV35, GML 8304.

The latest (AVALON m5/2022 and Millennia) are the most detailed and I like a lot my THAT1512 based preamp.
But I'd like to try to make my own class A preamp based on a DOA that I like a lot, APP992.
I tested it in my own Sontec clone and then tried in my preamp leave me very pleased.

Design goals are skip transformers and use if it's possible APP992 DOA class A everywhere.

Attached you'll find a preliminary schematic.

Most difficult part to find from standard suppliers are Q1 and Q2.
For them candidates was: 2sc2547 (I used AMEK 9098 and I liked them a lot), MAT02 (difficult to find...mostly from china), 2n4403, 2sk389 (going into FET-land).
I put BC550 in my schematic because they are very easy to find.
I'm wondering if there's something I could consider in DIP format.
I found these in SMD that could be good: 2SC2713, 2SC4117, KSC1845.

MPSA18 was second candidates in this preliminary schematic.

If is there a way to make something good/better without 3 class A DOA I'm very open to other options.
I need very low distortion, fast transients, no colour at all.

Thanks to those who will be kind enough to participate and contribute their wisdom!