Woodworking

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bo Deadly

I know we don't talk woodworking much but it has it's place in pro-audio.

Here's a keyboard table I just made. I only have a site saw but I made really good cross-cut and rip sleds (rip sled is in last pic) and that made all the difference.

kt00.png

kt14.png

kt17.png

Looks really nice, congrats.

I really don't like to see on stage ugly plastic keyboards saying "M-Audio" , "Roland" or whatever the brand of the day, I think it looks horrible on a stage.

Your setup looks beautifull

Thanks.

Yeah I have never done stain and poly before but it does look really nice. It's got a really smooth but durable feel to it.

I just wish I could play keys better. Basically I'm doing fake-jazz at this point  :-[

That's great.

Interesting. I was watching a performance the pretenders recently did on the BBC and the keyboard player had his nord in a wooden case something like this, and the wood and the shape just gave the whole "real piano" vibe, and it was super cool.

In case it's not obvious, it's supposed to look like a vintage synthesizer. The back is like the MiniMoog (the L tray is adjustable) but the cross-member, how it bolts together and the front is all Prophet 5.

I was going to mention what seems like a trend now to box up keyboards into something more resembling an organ , I see Ricardus noticed this same thing . A volume pedal might be a nice addition , maybe even a set of ceremonial daggers to wedge the keys down .

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Dg9jHTYZ-6U

Ive wiled away many many happy hours woodworking ,
Varnishes and other wood finishes are gone so expensive these days I been trying the old style linseed oil based finishes on garden furniture and tools  with wooden handles.