Roland JC-120 recapping?

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kdawg

Hi all... I have a Roland JC-120 Jazz Chorus amp that I love, but is quite hissy. I have the schematic (Apparently there are about 8 different Revs) and was trying to decide what to replace/upgrade to get the noise floor down.

The schematic is temporarily up at http://www.jnd.com/kdawg/my_jc120.pdf

Noise floor is about the same on both channels, so I thought maybe its power supply related. I put a scope on it a while back though and it didn't seem too bad. I'd love to get better noise floor transistors but I'm not very good at cross-referencing these japanese transistors.

Any help is greatly appreciated - I actually made a list of all the caps and there are 100+. I don't want to spend a fortune on parts but would like to replace key elements to get this thing going again. Thanks

-kdawg

Compare with another one to see if you have excessive noise in your unit. If the noise is standard, there's probably little or nothing gained in a recap job.

I have one also, an older one, and it has always been hissy to the point where it's too noisy to record with. I like how it sounds but it's almost unusable. If there's a fix I'd love to know about it.