Choosing a Tube Preamp

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

moce

Hello,
i need a tube preamp to warm my pc productions and to give harmonic distortion to some of my sounds, but i don't know wich one can be good for me. I'm considering two possibilities:
-Buy a Paia TubeHead (and assemble it).
-Contruct myself an easy project from the net.

Please, if somebody can give me any link of projects for this purpose will help me so much. All i find is designed for guitar or bass.
Opinions about Paia TubeHead or any suggestion about what to buy are wellcome too.

(I have NO experience with electronics, then the project suggestions should be for beginners).

Advanced thanks to you all for your help.
Moce

Hey welcome!

If you are a beginner, solid state (transistors) might be a smart move as the voltages are not as shocking.

And many solid state amps will "warm" up your signal, just like a tube amp.

If you do not care about learning electronics and building a ton of stuff, ebay might be a good way to get something to play with.

Seventh Circle sells a Neve preamp kit, (solid state), or you could buy a discrete op amp from John Hardy, Fred Forrsell, JLM, and a few other people and just wire in and out jacks, in and out transformers, plus a power supply.

How much do you want to spend?

Check the Black Market here for buckets of parts.
(see forum index)

And remember, a bucket of chicken dosen't feed a family, it contains a family.

Thanks Cj!

Well i have only about $250. I know it's not too much...

Yeah maybe you are right, and what i need is to buy an assembled amp.
But anyway if i buy it i would learn about electronics to can make my homemade amps designded for my purposes. (yes i'm falling in love with all this world)

What is an op amp?

Looking on ebay i find lots of nice vintage preamps but they havn't overdrive control (and i need it).