My reverb tank diagnostics

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bradb

I just bought a broken external reverb tank. Its pretty old, something like 50's/60's...its a PANoramic brand.

its got 3 tubes in it... 6X4, 6C4 (i think)and a 12AX7. Anyway, my background is all solid state, so i got online and got some info on how tubes work (cool!)...

Basically the tank will give me the spring crash if i hit it, but it won't "process" the incoming signal thru the spring. It will also pass dry signal. If i attach my AC voltmeter (no oscilloscope) to the input side of the spring and strum my guitar, I "see" signal. So basically, I'm thinking the transducer on the input side of the spring is bad, while the output side is good.

Now on to my question.. the transducers look like something rolled up in some kinda sticky paper, not what i'd think of as a transducer. Does anyone know what these are or how they can be replaced??

Thanks for your patience with my lengthy post...

bb

The typical spring reverb tank has a coil on each end of the spring - the "send" and "receive" pick-up. Both coils can be evaluated simply by measuring with an ohm meter. continuity - good, open - bad. Usually they either work or they don't. You can liken the reverb tank the same way a guitar pickup works - there is a pickup coil, and a small ferrite bead within the coils field that is attached to the end of the spring.

What Bill says. It is an electromagnet (coil) and a hunk of iron. If current flows in the coil, the iron moves. Vice-versa at the other end.