A Beginners DIY Audio Roadmap

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Scott ODell

Hello everyone! I'm an Electrical Engineer that is dusting off my analog electronics knowledge after several years in a software-related job. I recently completed a slightly modified version of the "Weak Joe" optical compressor and am very happy with it. For the first time, I feel like I can find a setting that transforms the audio into the best version of itself, unlike the DAW plugins I've used previously.

After this personal triumph, I've started scoping out future projects to beef up my home recording studio. However, I've come to realize I need the (mostly subjective) advice of more experienced DIYers before I can confidently select which projects to pursue. I'm currently limited by resources- both money, and especially time - and would like to focus on projects that add versatility to my setup, but to save time and money by not focusing on that "last 1%" that people talk about so much. I'm mostly interested in preamps (Neve, API, Tube, FET), EQs (Pultec mostly), and compressors (SSL G-series, 1176, LA-2A).

So now for the real questions I need your advice on:

1) How much do input/output transformers contribute to that "vintage sound" as compared with the electronics between them? For example, say I was in a recording situation where a vintage Neve 1073 would get me 100% of the sound I wanted, but instead I used a vintage Neve with the input and output transformers swapped out with a couple properly implemented THAT Corp. chips. By your subjective estimation, how close to 100% would that be?