A beginners very first try of a very very simple headphone amp. Help.

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fatheaddrummer

Hi everybody,

As the title says, i am a very beginner. I startet learning about electronics about 1 year ago. I really want to get an understanding of those things, so i tried to build my first little headphone amp...

I chose the Power Supply from the G Pultec und the amp-parts values from the tubes datasheet and some i calculated for myself.
As the output Trafo is 12,8:1, in combination with 32Ohms Headphones it should be around 5k Anode resistor...

i am pretty sure, that there are lots of mistakes, so i a glad if anyone can tell me how to do it better.
It took me about 3 days, to do this Projekt. So please be patient with me :)

THANK YOU VERY MUCH! :)

Attachments

• EL84 Test Schem.png
    EL84 Test Schem.png
    12.4 KB · Views: 176
Did you build it and try it?

I don't see a problem.

C6 *could* be 10 times smaller. 300uFd ought to be plenty.

C5 could be a little bigger. As shown, it is -3dB at 20Hz, or part-dB down at 50Hz, slightly crimping the deepest bass.

This is, as drawn, a *5 Watt* headphone amp. That is WAY more power than headphones need, about 100X more. However it is very low-gain. It needs maybe 12V at the grid of the EL84 to make 5 Watts. With a more typical 1V line-level signal you will get more like 0.05 watts, which is fine for headphones.

You could probably run it on much lower B+ supply, like 100V,  and still have ample output for headphones. The EL84 would run "cool" and last forever.

You could use a "lesser" tube than EL84, but EL84 is about as cheap as any and a lot more available than most.