Akai M7, M8, Roberts 770 project options

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mishagolin

So, the skinny is that I have 2 complete machines that are currently not working. I got them pretty cheap and the monoblocks are worth more to me than the tape drive sections. So, i have 4 monoblocks awaiting decomposition/rebirth.

First things first, I don't want to throw away anything that would be useful to anyone here. Is there anyone interested or in need of spare parts for any of the tape drive mechanisms? You pay shipping and i'll send whatever part you need. Just send me a PM.

*DISCLAIMER: I have some experience with high voltage tube electronics. I've built half a dozen tube guitar amps in the past year. I am aware of the dangers and I take proper precautions.

Here is what i have to work with:

- 250v secondary power transformer
- 6x4 rectifier
- EF86 preamp tube
- 12a_7 preamp tube
- EL84 (6bq5) power tube
- spare 7 pin socket from the oscillator no longer needed.
- 5 watt 8ohm output transformer
- Nice pretty 3u-ish chassis
- VU meter

other parts i have on hand
- Cinemag input and output transformers recommended for LA2A
- Shure M68 input transformers
- Edcor output transformers (on order)

So, a list of possible projects and what might be required.

1). RodC mods from the TapeOp forum. I am aware of the mods and have reviewed them. i like the idea of minimal changes but i think i'd like a more purposed project. I'm considering starting with his mods but cascading the EF86 into the next stage permanently and replacing the second stage with a 12au7 cathode follower output. I'm also considering removing the entire el84 section and replacing it with an additional EF86/12au7 pair to make a two channel preamp.