AKG C414 XLII problem

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mihailojocic

Hello good people!

I have problem with my C414 XLII. After plugging in there is a beautiful normal level sound for about 10-30 seconds and after starts to fade. Anything from 10-15 DB down. When goes to fade my attenuation isn't working anymore. I can also hear some kind of humming noise. I saw some similar problems and I do suspect that capacitors are bad, but as I'm not an expert (and I don't have schematic) I would appreciate help. Sending it to AKG isn't option because of a cost. :-/

I tried 2 different preamps, same. I measured phantom power. One is 47,2 other 48,4. I even cleaned membranes and dried out my everything. It was working for 5 minutes and again the same.

Help please!!!

Speak, sing, trying to record instruments. Every time is the same. I'm not really good with repairs, I know some basic stuff, but it's not going in to my head how it can be capsule. When I start mic it's really working great. Also, if it's capsule how then is possible that attenuation isn't working only when mic go into that "quiet" mode. I'm puzzled.

I also have one of those mics.

The electronic circuit is all SMD, if the problem is in the circuit it's really hard to fix or troubleshoot.
Besides some of the Lytic caps that are bigger the rest of the components are tiny.

If the problem is in the capsule at least it's easy to fix

C414XLS-cutaway.jpg

C414B_circuit.jpg

Yes, it's doing the same thing. I can hear difference in sound and when it get quiet also some kind of a humming noise.

Whoops said:
I also have one of those mics.

The electronic circuit is all SMD, if the problem is in the circuit it's really hard to fix or troubleshoot.
Besides some of the Lytic caps that are bigger the rest of the components are tiny.

If the problem is in the capsule at least it's easy to fix