AKG D12 microphone repair..if it is possible at all..

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Studiogearlover

hello guys. I would like to ask anyone out there who ever did repair an AKG D12 vintage microphone. I have found one in a bad shape and went for it for the fraction of the usual street price. I knew that either will work or not... well.. no signal. I took it apart. Someone had been here before many times as the plastic was broken, the screws were missing holding the grill...all of them. Glued here and there. Inside looks OK kind of besides the soldering of the mic cable. I am not sure what I am seeing here is what supposed to be when you look at the capsule where the green and blue leads are, seems to be just hanging there ? There is no resistance measured and there is no continuity measured between the blue and green leads.

I am no expert here but I do not see where the coil is connected to these leads and I assume somewhere should be connected?

Appreciate your help with massive thanks!

Attachments

• DSC_1027.JPG
    DSC_1027.JPG
    152.7 KB · Views: 38
  • DSC_1026.JPG
    DSC_1026.JPG
    150.9 KB · Views: 37
  • DSC_1028.JPG
    DSC_1028.JPG
    118.1 KB · Views: 36
Measure resistance between blue and green wire on the terminal strip. A healthy diaphragm would read close to either 60 ohm or 200 ohm depending on the coil version.
If you have an open reading, chances are the coil is damaged, but sometimes it's just the wire that need re soldering.
There is a large thread about the D12 with lots of information on how to remove and service the diaphragm, search the forum