Ampex 600 mic pre compressor build

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

industrialarts

Hi

Mentioned this in another post, got a working prototype so far. Like most projects, the details are killing me o_O So here is a design from a Nidiot.

First thing, this is supposed to be grungy, not HiFi - I am doing this as a project for a friend and we agreed that it was OK if sounded a little nasty. We didn't want to make just another 600 type preamp, I did that for him already. I opened my big mouth and said "hey, I bet I could make a compressor in there" so it's all my own fault. That said, it sounds pretty good so far and things are working well. I get at least -20db reduction, after that it starts to sound a little crunchy.

I'd love any criticism of the circuit, I am not an experienced designer and I borrowed a lot from the DOC opto compressor (found elsewhere in the forum) and info from Ian / ruffrecords.

To any answer some questions in advance - I tried to keep as much original as I could or close to original so that's why some of the values are what they are. Other values are from experimentation to make it work, and some others are because that's what I had. The opto I am using is the ‎NSL-32SR3‎ by Advanced Photonix (aka Silonex) is has a 25ma current draw, 10ms release and a lower ON resistance than the VTL54. I could not get the Xvive 53 (part I had similar to VTL53) to work but the NSL-32 works well. Using them back to back was from Ian's info and cleaned up a distortion problem I was having with only one.

The meter circuit is a work in progress and seems more complicated than it should be, so the design is just thinking on paper. Suggestions in the area are really welcome.

Other than that, it's really coming together

Thanks in advance for your help

Mark Springer
Vintasonic

Attachments

• COMP_1113.pdf
    97.5 KB · Views: 63