Beginner here -- best cheap mic for modding?

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ChrisSead

Hi everyone,
Apologies if this is the wrong place to post this: Have been down the rabbit hole of this microphone modding business over the past few days, and just thought I'd dive in and bought myself a K47 type capsule (from 'life long music', anybody used them? UK seller). I have been reading a lot of old posts from here about different mics for installing such capsules -- Behringer B2, MXL 770, etc. My question is: what would you recommend that has a pretty good circuit out of the box that will get me a decent sound (or at least a good representation of this capsule I've just bought) without too much modification of the circuit itself? Currently leaning towards the B2 Pro, as I can find them for ~70 pounds second hand and it's multi-pattern; but just wanted to make sure I'm not missing some obvious better choice.

Feel free to recommend some basic mods to circuits as well, I'm very familiar with soldering and working with PCBs but just don't know much of anything practical about the circuits in these microphones themselves.

Cheers

I've never modded a microphone, but beware of the polarisation voltage for the k47 capsule, it needs more than 48v, it needs 60v. I'll let the others, more knowledgeable ones, advice you on this topic :)

"Needs" more than 48V? That must mean that mics like the U47FET couldn't possibly work, and/or they utterly suck. Oh wait... ;)

On a more serious note though, the capsule will at least partially dictate what sort of donor mic to go for. If you got a single-sided one, there's no point in springing for a multipattern donor.

"Needs" more than 48V? That must mean that mics like the U47FET couldn't possibly work, and/or they utterly suck. Oh wait... ;)