Beginners Mic Mod

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Disease8

I have been collecting parts for some mic mods for quite some times and nearly have all the parts for the;

Scott Dorsey:

http://www.pfarrell.com/music/shanghaimic.html,

the Royer Mod (not quite enough parts)

http://www.crodog.org/tubemic/tubemic.htm

and some of the Naiant Mic designs..

http://www.naiant.com/images/MSH_Kit_Mic.GIF

Naiant Phantom Powered tube mic:

http://www.naiant.com/images/MSH-4v2_Condenser_Mic.GIF

I have the tube for the  above MSH-4 and was planing on using a Behringer C-1 case and the diaphragm is back electret.

I have never done a proper mod before but really want to start as I have so many things I want to mod/build.

I have an old Apex 435 LDC which I would like to mod with something like the Scott Dorsey Mod but I neeed to find a more complete example..

I also have an Apex 180 is it? that can have the MXL 603 mods applied!

Any advice would be much appreciated, I know I should learn about electronics but I would rather do this making some small projects and modifications first as I have so many parts and mics ready to be worked on.

Thanks for your time! :)

D..

First...if you don't have a lot of solder technique, I would find some old junk circuit boards, and spend some time re-soldering and removing components, just to get proficient at it. It's quite easy to make matters worse by pulling up a trace on the PCB of a mic as you are modding it.

Second, start with the Dorsey circuit, as it is solid state and requires no dangerous tube voltages. Seems to me some of the Niant designs are non-tube also, so maybe start there.