Bridge rectifier/SMPS question

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

yuka42

Hello all. I could use some help understanding bridge rectifiers. I’m repairing an Allen and Heath ZedR16 PSU and am slowly understanding most of the circuit. I’ve never worked on an SMPS before. Can I expect the same DC voltage (around 80VDC from 120VAC) to be present with different rectifiers? Specifically, the circuit has a 2KBP206, would a KBP208 have the same DC output and can I safely replace it? The data sheet seems to have their max input voltage as the main difference. Forward voltage is 1.1V on both rectifiers.

I actually don’t think it needs replacing as it tests fine but the question is just more for my learning. Awake and pondering bridge rectifiers… haha. I guess if both rectifier’s forward voltage is the same then they should put out the same DC voltage correct? Is there other factors that need to be considered other than max voltage?

Another question for anyone familiar with SMPS power supplies, but can I safely power up the unit without the mosfet (f8nk100z or stp5nb100fp) and controller chip (UC3842an) installed to check voltages? I would like to make sure the controller isn’t getting too much voltage at VCC before I install it.

Not sure if I’m allowed to upload the schematic to this site but I can if it’s permitted. I’m pretty wary of uploading things I don’t have copyright to.

Thanks

Ryan

Last edited:
Just meter the diodes, if they all measure good dont change the bridge. You can leave out fet and controller, but make sure after you check voltage on caps to discharge them. Also, 120 volts ac will give you 1.4 times that voltage as d.c.