Budget 192khz A/D

Help Support GroupDIY:

abbey road d enfer

Well-known member
Moderator
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
13,233
Location
Marcelland
Let us know what you think once you receive it :)
Yes I will, as I have done since the beginning. I know it's a subject almost all members are potentially interested in.

BTW, I just received an answer for the ticket I started with their customer (dis)service.
"The TLV320ADC6120 application is selectively disclosed under our export control program.
Hope that your request gets approved"

Well I hope too! :mad:
If not, I'm stuck with a $200 pos that can't even be used as a door stop.
 

Tubetec

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 18, 2015
Messages
3,167
Export control program , jesus , you'd think it was WMD they were selling . 'Hope your request get approved' , what next manditory cavity search ?

Did you end up getting the PPC3 software going in the end ?
 

abbey road d enfer

Well-known member
Moderator
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
13,233
Location
Marcelland
Export control program , jesus , you'd think it was WMD they were selling . 'Hope your request get approved' , what next manditory cavity search ?

Did you end up getting the PPC3 software going in the end ?
Well, the software is installed, but without the plug-ins it is utterly useless. It's just an empty shell.
 

Bo Deadly

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 22, 2015
Messages
2,673
Location
New Jersey, USA
Export control program , jesus , you'd think it was WMD they were selling .
You have no idea. In the US, certain software and hardware are both classified under US export controls as munitions. So yes, exporting software or hardware that might be used to make a weapon or device that might be used for military purposes is carefully tracked. You have to obtain an Export Control Classification Number (ECCN) through the Bureau of Industry and Security (BIS) to export those products. Cryptographic software or guns is treated the same under export controls and to US customs. If you look carefully at the ECCN numbers for various exported items, it is basically a list of hundreds of pages of ECCNs many of which are clearly exceptions for specific companies products.
 

Tubetec

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 18, 2015
Messages
3,167
I remember back a good few years when there was an embargo on G4 macs being sent to the middle east along with other troubled places for fear they would fall into the hands of the bad guys.
Now almost everythings made in China ,hard to see the limitations on exports having quite the same effect .
 

mhelin

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 12, 2005
Messages
552
Location
Tampere, Finland
Well, the software is installed, but without the plug-ins it is utterly useless. It's just an empty shell.
I have just the I2CMaster application in PPC3, nothing else (not that I needed any, and the I2C master could do anything the chip supports though it's not as user friendly). There are also the PPC2 and PPC1 applications which support only the older chips and EVMs.

Too bad the Cosmos ADC lacks any kind of synchronization options just USB in.
 

Tubetec

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 18, 2015
Messages
3,167
Werent you just waiting for approval to use the software module related to the ADC board 6140 Abbey ?
How would enquiring in the forums help with that ?

Not trying to be smart or anything Mhelin , but its audio out via USB ,
however if you look at the pic of the Cosmos PCB I posted you'll see a small unpopulated header marked I2s ,
chances are its an output so there will at least be the possibility of tapping a signal output from there and into another I2s capable device which can provide master clock .
The DIYINHK multi I/O PCB can handle several I2s ins and outs simultaniously, connects via usb and has solid Asio support upto 368khz , you probably will still need to connect the cosmos via its internal usb though to use the Tweak app as well as supplying power of course , as flagged up there seems to be an issue using the cosmos at 368khz with REW because the driver , then again that may be something thats fixable on Ivans side or possibly in REW itself.

Be great if Ivan himself chimed in here , I might take a look over in his Discord page to see if I can get more info on the Cosmos.
 
Last edited:

Tubetec

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 18, 2015
Messages
3,167
Got a few snippets of info from the cosmos discord site ,
The I2s header provides access to the audio output stream , the usb opperates alongside , but the cosmos itself generates master clock , thats normally what you want with an ADC .
 

abbey road d enfer

Well-known member
Moderator
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
13,233
Location
Marcelland
I have just the I2CMaster application in PPC3, nothing else (not that I needed any, and the I2C master could do anything the chip supports though it's not as user friendly).
After half a dozen tickets and 2 weeks after receiving the hardware, I've just received the approval for TLV320ADCx120 software.
It's too late now, I'll test it tomorrow.
Too bad the Cosmos ADC lacks any kind of synchronization options just USB in.
I don't think it would be necessary for measurements...?
 
Last edited:

abbey road d enfer

Well-known member
Moderator
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
13,233
Location
Marcelland

Tubetec

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 18, 2015
Messages
3,167
I guess it depends on which way you look at it , usb in to the computer or usb out from the interface , 6 of one , half a dozen of the other , as the old saying goes .
 

Tubetec

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 18, 2015
Messages
3,167
Not relevant really , more about semantics .
The real issue I think Mhelin was getting at is that the ADC acts as master , but isnt that normal when taking an input from an ADC , in other words clock is set to internal , this seems to be confirmed by what people were saying in the Cosmos discord forum . With the cosmos being two totally seperate boxes one for ADC one for DAC , both with seperate USB interfaces, how for instance would we allow the ADC be master and pass its clock signal onto the DA , the I2s header I think is the way to do this . If I can find Ivan on the discord forum I'll ask for more detail about clocking between ADC and DAC .
 

abbey road d enfer

Well-known member
Moderator
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
13,233
Location
Marcelland
I wonder if it matters for measurement purposes. For most measurements, synchronicity is not essential. I could live with the ADC and DAC living their life with different clocks. I'm not sure the ASIO driver would, though.
 

L091c

Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2014
Messages
18
Ordered the Cosmos ADC to see if my analogue mastering chain benefits from it (will do loopback tests to rate performance against current Motu ADC).

Why would one would need external clocking when the focus is on capturing the analogue domain? Sure if you want to capture digital signals (AES/SPDIF) or if you want to mix n match multiple ADCs then one master clock prevents the extra jitter when combining all the bitstreams.

[EDIT: if my external clock beats the internal clock in accuracy I would of course like to use my external one, just not sure how external clocking can out perform an internal one that is located next to the chip, slaving to external clocks seems to be the achilles heel in most designs]

The PCB doesn't look that fancy, love the I2S header, I think most of its performance is due to not having any frontend (I/V input stage), this makes it also very vulnerable (like the TI eva board). Very interested to try a nice frontend I have reproduced in KiCad and see if it manages to keep at least some of the ADC's distortion/noise performance.

I noticed there are many other ES90xx DIY boards here on groupdiy and on diyaudio, they don't seem to get the same traction as the Cosmos.
 
Last edited:

abbey road d enfer

Well-known member
Moderator
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
13,233
Location
Marcelland
Did you end up getting the PPC3 software going in the end ?
I've installed the software and connected the EVM.
It seems to work (actually I haven't connected any signals), well at least it seems to communicate with the PC.
I noticed the Bass and High Shelf, although they seem to take commands, do not reflect on the screen, which, BTW, only goes from 20Hz to 20k.
It's a pity I couldn't install the software on either my notebook od the laptop, because it works only on my desktop, which is in my home office, where I can't easily make measurements.
 

Latest posts

Top