Building low noise, euphonic, transformer balanced preamps as a beginner?

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GalenH

Hi,
I'm wondering what information is available for a preamp design that I would use as all rounders for folk music. Vocals, acoustic instruments.
I really love the sound of the recordings I made with ART MPA II preamps, with the tubes swapped for rca blackplates. I know they are cheap but they are not starved plate which makes a difference, and the recordings sound great with the tubes upgraded.

Ideally I would like to achieve fairly low noise, good matching, stepped gain for stereo use, 65+ db of gain. I would need phantom power, polarity switch.

As I am a beginner, I'm curious if this is even possible, or if there is a recommended kit.
I like the sound of high impedance, 10k+ ohm preamps like the AEA trp on the mics that I have. I think the TRP is a bit too transparent maybe on these transformerless mics?

I have 8 ll1517 output transformers that I could use to make preamps, if those were useful.

Portable is necessary, I like the 500 series format.

I wonder if I could modify a kit with better transformers to sound better, I don't know. Really a beginner here and I suspect I may be biting off more than I can chew.

Maybe I could gut a cheap mixer and replace the guts with good transformers, etc? Really have no idea.
Alternatively, I'm thinking of getting 4 channels of RND 511, or on the soupy total opposite side of the spectrum, go back to mpa iis. I know these are wildly different preamps.
I like the way the MPA II preamps (with tubes upgraded) sounded round on vocals, taking out harshness, and adding a richness that was very musical to me.

I am trying to give you an understanding of the sound character I am looking for