Can anyone help me finish wiring my 33609

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

danjpiscina

Hi there. I am about 95% ready to hook up my new 33609. It has been a long time in the making and I'm really anxious to hear it!

I am not very great with wiring. I have an Avel Lindberg 2x25V/1A [model Y236206] power transformer but I'm not quite sure how to hook it up to Igor's power supply. Has anyone done this before? I don't want to hurt myself!

I guess my question is this:

do I wire it as "dual isolated secondaries"?
  [see this document:http://web.archive.org/web/20090914070140/http://www.diyfactory.com/data/transformer_connections.gif  ]

if so, then where does "0V" go? I know these are ridiculously newbie questions, but I'm still a newbie!

On Igor's PSU [  http://i251.photobucket.com/albums/gg291/diy33609/POWER_SUPP_33609.gif  ] there are 2 points labeled "~28." and "~28.." what are these? I'm also confused about "+CV" and "-CV"

Thanks for listening! Any ideas will be much appreciated : ]

-Dan P.

it appears that igors ps want 28vac...you should parallel your secondaries though the voltage may be low and feed the ~28 pads.

Thanks for your reply. I finally figured the power supply out and powered up the 33609. everything is fine until I connect the compressor board cable to channel 1 [cannel 2 is fine]. When this is connected, R26  [47R] starts to cook!I still can't find anything wrong. Does anyone have an idea of what I should be looking for?

resistors burn because they cannot dissipate the heat generated by the current flow. Check our parts and solder connections.  maybe try a larger wattage resistor?

my only fear with adding a higher wattage resistor [it's already 1/2 watt and only calls for 1/4] is that I will fry other components without knowing it because the resistor wont fry!