Class A vs AB impact on bus compressors and use of neve cards in output buffer

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Nickerz

So Stam last year came out with their "neve mod" which is supposedly a B283 wired to the output buffer in class A\B. Now I am pretty new to this, but as I understand it, a compressor that has the output buffer wired in A\B will not behave differently depending on how hard it is loaded. That is to say that THD should be linear, that compression will be ratio dependent. So as I understand it then, the neve output card isn't going to be "loaded down" and therefor there's no difference if I insert the card on the output buffer, or if was run inline down the chain.

The reason why I ask is I really liked the way it sounded. But if it doesn't make a difference if I put it down the chain, then I would do that. If it however plays a part in the dynamics of the sound (that is to say that being wired to the output buffer sounds different than in line later in the chain), then I would like to work on a compressor with this built in.

It is my understanding that if I want the dynamics to impact that output buffer that it would need to be wired in class-a.

I am not sure where you got your information but it makes little sense to me. If you are talking about the BA283 class A card, the one with the 2N3055 output transistor, then this has to be run in class A, end of story, because it is a single ended output stage. If you are talking about the BA440 and friends then they are push pull output can can be run in class A/B.

I can find no info on the Stam Audio website about a B283 running in A/B.

Cheers

Ian