Clone mods

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

adammurtomaa

Hey guys!

My name is Adam and I'm an audio engineering student at SAE Institute Berlin and I'm currently in my last semester of my Bachelor's Programme. I had made extensive plans for my Bachelor's project, which relied heavily on working with a bunch of other people, but thanks to the covid-19 epidemic, I was forced to change my Bachelor's project last minute to something more...isolated.

My new Bachelor's project is to build a microphone. Originally, I wanted to do just a straight forward clone and do some exact measurements and comparisons to originals, but I was informed that my project required some "creative" input or influence from me, so a 1:1 clone would not be "enough". I have to build something and mod it. The suggestions and ideas so far are to build:
- a U47 or C12 where I'd add something like a HPF or a pad to the PSU
- a U87 with some sort of customisation to the mic, like LPF or a simple tilt EQ
- a U87 in a completely different donor body, like a Røde Procaster and turn it into a top-address microphone

I wanted to post here and get some thoughts and opinions from this fantastic forum and see what you guys think of these ideas. I am brand new to the world of DIY microphones (but not brand new to DIY electronics), so I don't know which of these three is most easily accomplished or would be the most fun/interesting project. Maybe some of these ideas are silly and way too hard - I don't know! If anyone has any other fun ideas for me, I'd love to hear them.

Another factor that I feel is drastically important to factor into this is availability of parts and such. I've been looking around online for U87 kits and B.O.M.s and parts seem to be getting scarce. I'm hoping to have a solid idea ready within two weeks and hopefully start ordering parts as soon as possible.