Dedicated Small Test Jig? Anyone ever built one?

Help Support GroupDIY:

New Soul Rebel

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 25, 2010
Messages
135
Guys

I have been building 500 series for some time now, but never really gotten around to solving an age old task.
I have always tested built units, using an extender cable kit (JP's from Soundskulptor). If y'all know the type I mean, it plugs directly into a lunchbox and enables around a 1ft extension outside of, in order to test units on a bench. While it works, I have often thought how much better it would be, to build a small jig. This was my thinking:


2 x card edge adapters with edacs ( to test two units at the same time)
Powered by one PSU (much smaller in size than the floor box PSU type)
Put together on an all in one piece of MDF

Has anyone ever built a test rig like this. Even better, is there a basic 16v adapter out there, that I could buy off the shelf to power two card edge adapters in series to do the job?

I'm basically looking for the EASIEST and cheapest way to power a 500 series unit for testing, without the need for a rack or having build a dedicated PSU and so as to avoid using an already built rack. A low cost testing rig if you will.

I have seen Soundskulptor's 501 single box, which has the guts of the idea (an ultra lightweight solution) but at €174 its not cheap.

Anyone every built anything to test their units, for a low cost that works? Cheers

New Soul Rebel
 

abbey road d enfer

Well-known member
Moderator
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
13,018
Location
Marcelland
That's what I've done when I was in 500/51X.
Then I realized the format is too restricting. Remember it's a format that was created more than 50 years ago, when a "large" mixer had a maximum of 18 bus and processing was point-to-point (no parallel passes).
It's still OK for housing preamps, but I favor the versatility of independant units.
I used parts of a 11-slot mother board that I shortened for a lunch box and a PSU from another project. It has only +/- 15V and about +/-20V unregulated, no phantom. It proved sufficient for general set-up and troubleshooting.
 

Attachments

  • test jig.jpg
    test jig.jpg
    121.9 KB · Views: 46

Rob Flinn

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 3, 2004
Messages
4,535
Location
Sussex, UK
I have a few different test jigs for op amps, Neve modules, and API etc.  I'm even think of building one for the modules in my desk.
 

Attachments

  • 20210103_114027_resized.jpg
    20210103_114027_resized.jpg
    699.1 KB · Views: 47

mjrippe

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 27, 2011
Messages
2,570
Location
Brooklyn, NY
I built a jig to use with my bench power supply.  When a module is plugged in, it can lay flat or stand upright at the correct height.  The back looked nicer, but then I had to add a jack for +48v.
 

Attachments

  • API Jig.jpg
    API Jig.jpg
    67.2 KB · Views: 38

Rochey

Well-known member
White Market Member
Joined
Jul 2, 2004
Messages
2,694
Location
Dallas, TX - Formerly UK
I posted about doing jigs on EA's facebook page - maybe head over there and search the term "jig" ? :)

https://www.facebook.com/ExpatAudio/posts/1948991815244438

https://www.facebook.com/ExpatAudio/videos/254777542108021/

I heavily rely on my 3d printer for jigs these days and export DXF's from Eagle.
If you really are testing in volume, or need a consistent process, then I strongly recommend using an arduino or a raspberry pi to perform testing. getting the same test done, every time, is critical for quality control.
 
Top