DIY DI and ReAmp Boxes?

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

carboncomp

Hi, first I hope this is the right section to ask in. If not, sorry mods!

I'm on a super tight budget trying to set up a home studio set up mainly for guitar and am a total noob with recording/production. Right now I just have a 2 input audio interface, but would really like to use my guitar pedals in my DAW, and reamp some of my amps, I'm really only going to be using guitar so believe I can get away with just passive DI and Reamp boxes, right?

Are there any good open source builds people would recommend, would rather etch my own PCBs and use my stash of components than grab some DIY kit.

Any help, advice or criticism is welcome, as I say this is all new to me, so if I have asked or said anything silly, then I'm sorry!

The Bo Hansen DI box is great, it's not passive but it runs on phantom power, so no need to worry about external PSU. It's very easy to build and sounds great. It's a much better choice for guitar than a passive DI box.

Transformer choices are a bit limited for passive DI, whereas the Bo Hansen DI uses a regular mic input transformer wired in reverse. It also doesn't use any exotic JFETs or anything like that, just a complementary pair of transistors. BC550C and BC560C will work. I built mine on tag board using random parts I had on hand.

The top pic on this page (the original DI box from 1975) is nicely laid out using tag strips and P2P wiring, that approach is ideal if you want to avoid buying PCBs.

http://www.hansenaudio.se/techpage.htm
There are various reamp circuits floating around on here too, but I haven't got any direct experience with any of them.

This thread is worth checking out, if you haven't already seen it.

https://groupdiy.com/threads/di-reamp-theory-questions.69875/

Last edited: