Drip 670 AGC Switch Wiring

Anybody else building this unit with this option?

  • x

    Votes: 3 100.0%
  • x

    Votes: 0 0.0%

  • Total voters
    3

DonnieDarko

Well-known member
Joined
May 26, 2012
Messages
124
Reaction score
29
Hey there,

I´m almost finished building my Drip 670.

Only thing missing out are the TCs (due to delivery problems at Digikey with my switches for the PTP version of the TC) and the AGC switch.

I checked the wiring as described in the manual and it somehow doesn´t seem right - some cables go to nowhere, a lot more cables than mentioned in the manual need to be jumped a few times according to the schematic.

Is anybody here who encountered the same problems or has finished building the unit using the M/S option?

 

Attachments

  • IMG_4012.JPG
    IMG_4012.JPG
    668.9 KB · Views: 97

loopermc5

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 10, 2008
Messages
255
Reaction score
1
Location
Oakland Ca
I am getting ready to start my agc switch been using the comp for months just been lazy.I think at one point greg said therexc were some mistakes in the manual. I decided to go off the schematic. Are you doing the tc ptp because you dont have the boards or just cause?
 

DonnieDarko

Well-known member
Joined
May 26, 2012
Messages
124
Reaction score
29
I don´t have the boards (they wanted to ship them out some time ago but they didn´t arrive yet), but I do have the sizes of them as listed in the manual.

I´m doing PTP because the board don´t seem to fit into my case: The Golpoint switches to the right, to the left is the wall of the case.

I´m using one of Tat´s cases, heard other people complain about issues with fitting in the TC PCBs.
 

loopermc5

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 10, 2008
Messages
255
Reaction score
1
Location
Oakland Ca
I actually have 2 extra boards somewhere if you want them. I had just turn mine at funny angles to make them fit i can post a pic later.
 

loopermc5

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 10, 2008
Messages
255
Reaction score
1
Location
Oakland Ca
I used the bud case with my on front panel. I will try to locate the boards today. I actually had more room for the boards than I remembered.
photo7-1.jpg
 

DonnieDarko

Well-known member
Joined
May 26, 2012
Messages
124
Reaction score
29
Nice, tidy work!

Yeah, my case looks somewhat more unorganized due to bigger cables with kind of a really stiff shielding and also my front panel is cut a bit different. It´s a lot like yours, but then a bit more narrow in the left part I think. Did you happen to find the TC Boards? What do you want for them?

 

chaserose1

Member
Joined
Aug 25, 2012
Messages
11
Reaction score
2
I am just starting my build, I will be using this option as I continue the build so will be paying close attention to your input and results-- I am having difficulty with locating the appropriate input attenuators-- the hairball 70 series has been discontinued I have been told, I would appreciate any suggestions as a substitute or work around you or others might have.
 

loopermc5

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 10, 2008
Messages
255
Reaction score
1
Location
Oakland Ca
chaserose1 said:
I am just starting my build, I will be using this option as I continue the build so will be paying close attention to your input and results-- I am having difficulty with locating the appropriate input attenuators-- the hairball 70 series has been discontinued I have been told, I would appreciate any suggestions as a substitute or work around you or others might have.

I originally got mine from Jeff  (http://www.classicapi.com) before I switched to the stepped Shallco pricey but worth it for stereo matching etc.`

 

chaserose1

Member
Joined
Aug 25, 2012
Messages
11
Reaction score
2
loopermc5,  Thanks for the info.  I went to the Surplus sales website to view the Davens-- Do you have the part number of the one you used handy-- I think this is the direction I would like to go-- I am trying to invision the mounting and what is required to accomplish this neatly-- any hints?
 

loopermc5

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 10, 2008
Messages
255
Reaction score
1
Location
Oakland Ca
Hi
I will check for you when I'm back at the studio. I got mine from Anthony @ http://www.anthonydemarialabs.com he may help you out I got my agc switch from him to it was pricey but it's nice having the proper switch.
 

DonnieDarko

Well-known member
Joined
May 26, 2012
Messages
124
Reaction score
29
I got my attenuators from a dude on eBay named "micrental".

He has some used Shallcos in stock most of the time, if you are lucky he has the right ones.

They are really big though. If you using Tat´s case, you have to cut the small aluminium plate.

 

DonnieDarko

Well-known member
Joined
May 26, 2012
Messages
124
Reaction score
29
Hey Guys,

still no answer from Drip concerning the correct wiring.

One thing that seems to be for sure: Wire 5 and 19 don´t need to be wired on the switch, as they seem to be bridged on the PCB already (this is the only jumper that has to be set on the PCB when installing the switch).

We wired the whole enchilada according to the second version of the Drip AGC Manual (looks just like a big, ugly clump of wire) and it´s not working…

Does anybody have a clue?  :( :( :(
 

Majestic12

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 10, 2011
Messages
565
Reaction score
183
Location
Germany
I would try to come up with your own wireing guide. In mono mode both input signals get distributed above both input transformer windings, also does the ouput signal on the output transformer.
In M/S Mode, A+B is fed to one input tranny, A-B to the other.
The output signals are A-B and A+B to come back to a L/R signal again.
I have a handdrawn plan at hand, but I still need to check all right connections on the drip pcb.
 

DonnieDarko

Well-known member
Joined
May 26, 2012
Messages
124
Reaction score
29
Yeah, I´m clear about how the signal should go.

Also I did look into the schematics, the one provided by Drip (with the colorings) and the original one.

Problem is, I don´t know where exactly the PCB feeds out the signal from the schematic…

I would be glad to have look at your facsimile.
 

Majestic12

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 10, 2011
Messages
565
Reaction score
183
Location
Germany
Well, I also have to check the connections on the pcb. Since Drip provides no pcb plan I have to check the traces directly on the board...
 

DonnieDarko

Well-known member
Joined
May 26, 2012
Messages
124
Reaction score
29
Hey Majestic,

thanks, we did it. Got some new manual from Greg.

Some other problems though…
 

Latest posts

Top