Dynamic output transformer testing (pushpull amp) question..

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Test Point

Hey all...I'm not sure if this is the place to ask this but I'll give it a shot...
I need to build some sort of "dynamic" test bed to test output transformers used in guitar, etc amps (pushpull)...I fix amps for a living and sometimes I'll get an amp on the bench that the customer needs a quote for repair costs....unfortunately, some of these amps come to me in such a state that I can't tell if the O/T is working until I've spent several hours in the amp getting it to the point of testing it for power out, only to find out that the O/T is dead or not working properly and then have to call the owner with a "you now need an output tranny to the tune of $120 plus installation". You can imagine their response.
I'm thinking of using an old 100 watt Peavey amp I've had kicking around, pull the output tranny out of it and use binding posts to hook an unknown O/T up to it and run the outputs to a load. I would gut the amp except for the drive tube and the output tubes (pull two of them for a 50 watt O/T) and just pump a signal into the effects return jack.
I guess I'm asking if there is an easier way to do this than what I am dreaming up here? I know you can check a transformer using a sig gen output into the primaries and measure the output but I have found that that doesn't always show the whole picture...it'll show OK until you get about 350 or more volts on the primaries and then the insulation will break down or other maladies will show up....
What are your thoughts on this...am I trying to do something here that is easier to do another way???

I am beholdin' to you all

TP