Eight Channel Differential Receiver

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

atavacron

Has anyone thought about – or made – an 8 channel input PCB for the THAT 1200 or THAT 1240 series? I could see it being a useful tool for people making active summing mixers and small consoles and such. It would be tiny if one went surface mount. I'm not sure there's really an advantage to swapping ICs, but there is a DIP8 version of each chip, and through hole soldering would be easier for people still learning.

Currently, I need to get 32 balanced inputs into a matrix mixer. I could use four 8-input cards, and spares might be useful for other things. I am not a PCB designer, but it seems like a pretty straightforward design that would benefit folks, so maybe someone would like to collaborate. I could make a Mouser BOM, surely. The only commercial alternative is the single-channel SparkFun THAT 1206 InGenius Breakout, with a TRS that would be more of an inconvenience for most folks. Also it's $15 USD.

You're dropping the shield before you hit the card, so it would just be a 16-pin .100" header on the input, Hi/Lo x 8. Output could just be 8 x signal & the 0V reference (to which you would tie a shield), coming out to another 16-pin  .100" header. I like to keep things super obvious, thus female on the in and male on the out. Power could arrive via a 3-pin female header. Two ground planes would be nice. I like Jeff Steiger's approach to grounding/not grounding a board (as on the Inv-ACA) by using a metal or nylon standoff at one corner.