Feeler: an "Eee-Zzz" christmas present...ez1073 and ez1073-500

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
So I finally "finished" my first build (if you buy anything from mouser DON'T do economy shipping) but every time I plug it in I fry the fuse.
For reference I've built 6 of the 500 series EZ1073 pres, I've done 2 U87 clones, 5 DIYRE colour pres, a couple guitar amps, several pedals and I'm a full time luthier so while it's possible I have some bad solder joints, I do have a bit of experience with that part and everything looks good.

However this is such a big build with so many small parts it's totally possible that I put something in backwards, missed some connection somewhere or just plain misunderstood an direction. After my first power on attempt for instance I realized that I had misread the colourbook and paired the blue and grey wires and the brown and violet wires from the transformer. Hopefully that alone didn't fry it, but if it did I'd rather know that right out the gate.
Any insight or advice on where to start troubleshooting would be greatly appreciated.

Attachments

• 20221101_181107.jpg
    20221101_181107.jpg
    507.2 KB · Views: 0
  • 20221101_181134.jpg
    20221101_181134.jpg
    553.6 KB · Views: 0
  • 20221101_181147.jpg
    20221101_181147.jpg
    500.9 KB · Views: 0
  • 20221101_181155.jpg
    20221101_181155.jpg
    537.9 KB · Views: 0
  • 20221101_181229.jpg
    20221101_181229.jpg
    502 KB · Views: 0
Last edited:
So I finally "finished" my first build (if you buy anything from mouser DON'T do economy shipping) but every time I plug it in I fry the fuse.