Fluke DMM Mod

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

Gold

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 23, 2004
Messages
3,155
Location
Brooklyn
I couldn’t take the meter crashing onto the bench when I touched the meter anymore. The flaps on the back for propping it up don’t work very well. So I did this. Works great so far.
 

Attachments

  • 6035747E-40F1-4336-BDE4-CFE420FE4A6A.jpeg
    6035747E-40F1-4336-BDE4-CFE420FE4A6A.jpeg
    1.8 MB · Views: 3
  • 498B3137-025C-41E5-9DF1-1ECA8C484D82.jpeg
    498B3137-025C-41E5-9DF1-1ECA8C484D82.jpeg
    1.4 MB · Views: 4
  • 9E9BEC26-A8D7-4429-B4EC-03F819835E87.jpeg
    9E9BEC26-A8D7-4429-B4EC-03F819835E87.jpeg
    1.9 MB · Views: 4

Tubetec

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 18, 2015
Messages
4,694
Not the PCB of course but hot water ,soap and an SS pot scrub,used lightly on the yellow silicone works wonders
 

zamproject

Well-known member
Joined
May 11, 2010
Messages
1,297
Dust is one thing, I'm more concerned about how Paul will hold the probes in standby mode now 😇
 

Gold

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 23, 2004
Messages
3,155
Location
Brooklyn
Not the PCB of course but hot water ,soap and an SS pot scrub,used lightly on the yellow silicone works wonders
I do that a couple times a year but it gets grimy fast. I'm working on electronics with 50 year old grime all over it. And therefore my hands too, I've already scrubbed a lot of it but some of it like cable bundles haven't been done yet. No one has ever accused me of being a neat freak. I'm naturally a slob who works hard at not being a slob.
 

Tubetec

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 18, 2015
Messages
4,694
Ahahah,

Its the eternal struggle we all face , cleaning up our own mess
I started to get spurious MOhm readings on my fav Fluke lately ,
all was well after swabbing the PCB with iso , probably my own paw prints :oops:
 

Whoops

Well-known member
GDIY Supporter
Joined
May 9, 2008
Messages
7,322
Location
Portugal
I couldn’t take the meter crashing onto the bench when I touched the meter anymore. The flaps on the back for propping it up don’t work very well. So I did this. Works great so far.

Great solution.
I use the exact same Fluke meter, great unit, mine keeps crashing on the floor all the time, not nice...

I think I will DIY something to fix it forever in the bench, I'm tired of it falling.
I then use a cheaper but capable meter when I need to probe something in other part of the workshop, a meter I don't mind that much if crashes on the floor
 

Gold

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 23, 2004
Messages
3,155
Location
Brooklyn
It is still working great on both meters I did it to. Even when it tips over it’s a slow motion crash. It doesn’t bash what’s behind it when you press a button.

It’s plastic tubing and PVC bar stock I had laying around. The tubing just happened to fit.
 

amplexus

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 11, 2018
Messages
197
Location
Ontario, Canada
Hah! Great minds! I did the same thing to mine a couple years ago with dowel, and screwed it to the bench. It's set in my DUT variac supply full time to measure mains current draw. Also note the 9VDC adaptor terminating in a 9V battery clip to keep it permanently powered up.


IMG_5120.jpeg IMG_5121.jpeg
 

Latest posts

Top