Ground Loops in PCB design

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I'm new to PCB design, so this is probably a noob question. I'm laying out a PCB using circuitmaker, this is not a design I'll ever have manufactured, its just practice. I making the design a two layer board, top and bottom copper, all of the components are through hole. When I use the auto router then pour my ground plane the router wants to connect all of the grounds with traces then connect the pads to the ground plane. Like I said, I'm new to PCB layout but I've done enough audio repair work to know that seems like the kind of thing that would cause a ground loop of some kind. It would be easy enough to delete the traces and leave the pads connected to the ground plane. I double checked and in this case this isn't an island, the big plane is definitely the GND net. And as an aside is there a convention for the right way to connect the top and bottom copper GND planes in an audio application? That is to say, should I add vias just to make the connection or are the through hole components doing the work? Looking for input from people with more experience doing audio PCB layout. I did a search, but didn't find any threads on the subject with this issue. Thanks.

ground-loop.png

There is obviously a problem with your CAD package. Assuming you defined you copper pour to be connected to the ground net then it should track them and then pour. I suspect this is just finger trouble with your CAD package. What it should do is just connect ground pads to the copper pour with thermal reliefs.