Has anyone made a snake using Tech-Flex nylon sheathing?

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ricardus

WILL SOLDER FOR FOOD
No longer in NY and below the Mason Dixon line.
So I am going to be making some 12 and 8 channel sub-snakes and drum-snakes, and I want to use the tech-flex stuff, but I have never used it before. I've made a bunch of snakes, but never with this stuff. Funny thing is, I used to work at a company that made snakes, and a few years into my tenure there, they started using it, but I never watched them use it.

So when I cover the fanout leads with the stuff, is it going into the XLR and under the strain relief chuck (Neutrik XLRs)?

Anyone done this?

I did quite a few but that was decades ago... The thing is one needs to stop the braid somehow. One way to achieve this is to use a lighter to melt the nylon, but you'll get a much cleaner result using heat shrink. Then heat shrink goes into the XLR...
Otherwise trying to get the braid into the Neutrik is a pita...

Axel

Are you talking about multipair that has no jacket over the shield? If so I’d think any money saved on the cable would be swamped by the tech flex cost and labor.

One of our local rentals uses heat shrink tubing for the braid at the XLR end.
I’ll see if I can make some photos in the reasonable amount of time.

Are you talking about multipair that has no jacket over the shield? If so I’d think any money saved on the cable would be swamped by the tech flex cost and labor.