[help] Trouble with Aurycle A5500MP Build. Low heater voltage?

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

constellates

This is my first time building a microphone so I went with a budget kit from Aurycle. Here's a link to the specific kit where you can see a layout and schematic at the bottom. http://www.aurycle.com/aurycle-a5500MP-large-diaphragm-tube-condenser-diy-microphone.html

I believe I have everything connected correctly, but when I plug it in I'm not getting any real sound. If I crank my speaker/headphones I can hear it picking up some radio waves but there's no actual sound coming from the capsule as far as I can tell.

It also appear that the tube (12ax7) is never fully heating. There's a faint glow, but it doesn't get nearly as warm to the touch or visibly glowing as it does when I put it in my guitar amp.  If I measure the voltage (with all parts/tube connected) between the heater supply wire and the ground I get around 4.4v. I believe 6.3v +-10% is standard for this tube. The heater supply wire emerges out of the bell surrounding the transformer so I can't tell if this wire is coming from the transformer or directly from the 7pin socket. If I measure what I believe is the heater supply pin directly at the power supply I get about 12v.

I found a video where someone mentions the schematic shows pin 5 of the tube connecting to ground instead of pin 4 which causes only half the tube to heat. I've tried connecting this both ways and it does change whether a single or both sides of the tube heat but doesn't fix the voltage issue.

Right now I'm feeling pretty stumped as to what to try next. Any suggestions or additional info I could provide? The heater supply part of the circuit seems so simple. Is it even possible I have a wrong component or something causing the voltage issue?