Help with getting obscure transformers to destroy signal again

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hoyahelper

Hey all long time lurker here

I got a strange one for you!

Now im a bit of a novice but also like to throw things together and see what happens. I got these Prahn Danish transformers (cant find any info anywhere on them) on Tradera (swedish ebay) and decided to just do a simple passive stereo box and see what it sounds like. The result was this. There is also a reference of what the sample i used sounds like not going through the transformers.

IMG_1638 copy.jpgIMG_1637 copy.jpg

The box they came in said they were 447 ohms so I Assumed sending a line level through that made them distort and thats what made that very destroyed sound. But went to use them today and now they sound like example two in the link provided. Not sure what could be the reason - could it be electrical (ground loop?) or maybe just the behaviour of the transformers?

just wanted to see if anyone has experienced this before and might have any ideas.

Thanks very much!

edit - ignore the broken cables - tip for input ts jack was soldered to one winding and tip for output ts jack was soldered to other winding. Ground bypasses transformer altogether

Could be IF transformers!

the gray screw things are caps to windings - not sure if that constitutes it as an IF transformer

If it is an IF transformer - does anyone know why the way it affects the audio signal might change? Could it be to do with radio frequencies?

If it is an IF transformer it will have practically zero effect at audio frequencies. Some IF transformers had a built in detector diode so maybe this is causing the distortion.

Cheers

Ian

Last edited:
Thanks Ian! I think you may be onto something with the diode clipping! Will test that out and see what happens!

Hey all! So i figured it out