Hey! Im totally new to this..

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Zeppelin4Life

Hi everyone, my name is Dave, and I am obsessed with audio. I have a band and when I was 11 years old I bought a used 4-track and thats how this all began. Anyway, now I have a lot more experience (and a hell of a lot more gear) and I need a good compressor. Also good preamps, but thats another story. I dont know much about building electronics, but I know I could build an LA2a, as I've seen the kits and such. Could someone direct me to where I could buy the pots and caps and all thoes little things? Any help appreciated. Thanks!

Dave

Hi Dave,

Welcome to "The Lab"!

A good place to have a look at is Group DIY

There is a good overview of the projects going around, as well as practical help and advice. You'll see Kev around here too- he put together the GDIY site and most of the projects are done by members of "The Lab".

Check out the archives of this forum too, and don't be afraid to ask questions. Many here have successfully completed an LA-2a, with great results. The G1176 compressor is also a firm favourite here, check Jakobs DIY Site for some more ideas.

I can't comment on component suppliers, I'm sure some of the NY guys could point you in the right direction for good mail order companies!

Good luck with your DIY

:thumb:

Mark

Dave, the pots & caps aside, the magic (well, at least a percentage) part of the LA-2A, is the T4 optical attenuator, and the in/out transformers. So, if you've got those, than you're already 50% there! And, don't forget; Sgt. Pepper was done on 4 tracks! :shock: (How the hell did they do that!) :!: :thumb: :sam:

hey dave-