High Pass Filter Mod need help.

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Migs 31

Hi everyone,

I have been working on my mixing desk for a few months, modding,re-routing the sub-groups,added extra aux returns, changed pre-amp chips and mod the H.F. and L.F. on the mic-line channels.Where I'm stuck now is, trying to mod the HPF on the individual channels. Trying to replicate what I did with the HF and LF bands (putting caps in parallel,giving me an option of three Frq. with SPDT switches or ten Frq. with rotary switches) I dont seem to be able to change the darn corner Frequency on the HPF, or at least it's so subtle , that I can't hear it. I have identified Capacitor C11 as being the one responsable for the HPF corner frequency.Do I need to change something else to make that corner frequency shift either up or down? Is it possible to easely make it  a fully variable Frq. filter from lets say 30Hz to 300Hz? And the slope, does changing the slope from 6dB/Octave to let's say 12 or even 24 dB/octave have a role to play in this, maybe making the filter more "audible", more drastic? The original Frq. is 70Hz with a 6dB/octave, set by C11=22uF @ 25V.The values I have applied instead are, 2uf ,22uf and 47uf,  then 10uf, 22uf and 47uf combinations, hoping to get three different frequencies, with of course corresponding positives with + and neg with -. Find included part of schematic of a mic/line channel, top red circle being HPF, H.F. and L.F. section and lower circle being Mid Semi-parametric Eq section.I need help with this one folks, or pointing out at the right direction, other thread or document. I mean any help would be welcome.Thanks.

Attachments

• EQ section JPG.jpg
    EQ section JPG.jpg
    199.8 KB · Views: 52
HI.