Hot air rework: help finding an inexpensive SOP hot air rework nozzle?

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

capacitor

Hi, all! I need to desolder some AK4393 D/A converter ICs. They are in a 28 pin VSOP package.

I'm new to hot air rework, but not new to (de)soldering discrete stuff, haha! I'm starting out buying equipment for SMD work, and need a little guidance.

I'm looking at doing this hopefully the right way, similar to what this guy is doing. He is pulling a QFP chip, but I'd like to follow the same general technique. The biggest thing I need to avoid is to damage the boards that these chips are on.

I'm trying to find something a little less expensive than this Hakko. Dimensions of the AK4393 is the same as the AK4395 that's going in afterward: 9.8mm x 5.6mm (datasheet here)

Any leads, suggestions, alternatives?

Last edited:
Amazon has generic nozzles and tips that are MUCH cheaper than genuine Hakko, if you're located in a country that they serve.

If the component's package only has pins on two opposing sides, I give them a tiny shot of liquid RA flux, then rake back and forth across them with my soldering iron while very gently applying upward pressure on the body with an extractor. If your soldering iron uses Hakko-compatible tips, there's a fine pointed, bent tip that works great for this.

When that side is free, I pause to allow the solder to cool, then move to the other side and repeat. I then mop up the remaining solder from the pads with a fine desoldering braid. Doing the "raking" trick with 14 pins might not be easy, though. I've never tried it.