Impedance match in summing box chain

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jonathanak

Hi!

I'm building a summing box with 4 stereo inputs (four left and four right). Each channel, a total of eight, will have a Sowter 7026 (200:200) on it. The summed stereo signal will then go into a Studer line amp (input impedance >10k, output impedance <50ohm).

I'll send the signal directly from my Antelope Orion 32+ Gen3 into the summer and then into the interface again. The output impedance of the interface is 56 ohms and the input impedance is 11.2k ohms according to their website.

I'm a rookie when it comes to impedance and stuff, so I'll just ask here - will this work? I'm mostly thinking about the 200:200 transformers. When I'm looking around it's mostly 600:600 or 10k:10k that's recommended, but I got these 200:200 from an old Soundcraft Delta board, so I thought I could use them for something.

All the best,
Jonathan

200:200 is certainly too low. Their inductance will be low and even really low output impedacne sources may suffer bass loss and/or distortion. For a balanced passive summing mixer you do not need a transformer on every input (unless you specifically want extra transformer mojo per input. Most summing mixers just use a pair of 5K resistors, one in the hot and the other in the cold to feed the bus. The resultant mix is fed to a transformer and often the bus is slugged to reduce interaction between inputs so you might have about 300 ohms or so across each bus. However, since you are feeding into a Studer line amp with a 10K input impedance you, whose gain may be limited, you might dispense with the bus slugging resistor. (is the studer balanced in an out?)

Antelope input and output impedances look OK for this application.

Cheers

Ian