Imponderable question - HP400GL repair?

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

swpaskett

I have to admit it -- I am a sucker for old tech. I have this HP RMS voltmeter sitting on the shelf... it's been there for 12 years or so. It works for a while when I manage to get the range switch seated just right, but the custom rotary switch is just worn out. It has a beautiful 5 inch meter with a mirrored scale... I drool just thinking about it.
Does anyone have a source for old-fangled rotary switches or parts? Or, barring that, I could replace all the discrete stuff in the box with about 3 opamps. I would still have to fix the attenuator section, but it would require a less exotic switch I probably have in the junk box.
Finally, don't tell me it's not worth it. I know that, but Frankenstein had his monster, and I have mine.

I will assume you have cleaned the switch as best you can ;) Some rotary switches (multi-deck in particular) have screws that hold the layers together. Tightening these can make a huge difference.

If that is not the case, do you know how many poles and positions the switch uses? I have a box full of vintage rotary switches and I'm sure others here do too. There are also a few surplus companies left in the USA but you really need to know what you are looking for.

Mike