Intro and PSU opinions

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Giggity

Hello all.  I thought I would make a proper intro.  First, I am a DIYaholic.  This applies to many things.  But within this context, my knowledge is limited.  Not a total noob but no electronics degree either.  Outside of a few amp repairs, my experience includes a few guitar pedal builds (2 kits and one from a PCB and order the parts separately), A "Spyder" PSU for said guitar pedals and a +/-15 & +48vdc PSU for my Soundcraft mixer.  Though, after building it, I found out how to repair the original SMPS.

Recording wise, it's just a hobby and only of and for myself.  The Soundcraft mixer (a Spirit E8) is only used for the mic pres and a outboard volume control for the monitors (also DIY).  Interface is a M-Audio 2496.  I like the PCI card over a USB interface.

Now, on to my current project (about time he shut up ;D).  I'm looking to do a mashup of a couple schematics I have found.  Lucky, my budget and skills match..... both pretty poor.  I want to do a preamp like the T15 from Seventh Circle combined with a 3 channel para EQ.  Should be simple enough for my feeble skills.  Also, given the room I have to record in (a basement spare bedroom), anything better would be a waste, acoustically speaking.

But first, I want to get the PSU sorted.  I took the PSU design I built for the Soundcraft and massaged it a bit. It's a similar design to others I have seen here and elsewhere.  I laid it out in LTSpice and ran the sim.  It looks pretty good.  Below are the so-so schematic that I used for the sim and the sim results.  I say "so-so schematic" because the PNP and the NPN are generic and the is no switch I like in the LTSpice library.

Please, give it a look and let me know what you think.

THANKS!

14559262366_78a76c08d3_c.jpg