Kawai EQ-8 repair and upgrade

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

groovara

Hi all, I was able to get my hands on the Kawai EQ-8 eight channel parametric equalizer really cheaply. This is my first hardware parametric so I am still learning, but I ran some white and pink noise through it with my DAW and looked at the curves on FreqAnalyst, and they look pretty accurate, if not a bit noisy. One channel is a bit too noisy/buzzy compared to the others, even after spraying some contact cleaner into the jacks. This EQ has 8 separate channels with individual ins and outs, and they can be used in pairs if you plug into the input of one and use the output of the adjacent one. I am planning to use this as a 2-channel EQ with 4 bands each, by connecting the output of one pair via cable and feed it into the input of the next pair.

I am planning to recap this to hopefully remove the noise, and perhaps change the opamps (it uses the Hitachi HA-17558 for the most part and a couple of NJM2043 in the channels with Mic gain options), but I want to check with you guys first, since I am very green with electronics repair. I've done a bit of soldering making my own cables and repaired a few potentiometers, but this will be my first time to totally recap and perhaps change some opamps. I've read a number of posts on opamp upgrades and how it may not be beneficial especially if you do not know what you are doing, since slew rate is not the only consideration. Based on my research this would be considered a state variable filter type EQ.

What would you guys recommend so that I could improve on this? I am open to experimenting and learning on this, since I got it so cheaply. I was able to obtain the schematics for your reference. Thank you all.

Attachments

• 20210914150111.pdf
    60.4 KB · Views: 23