Kicad advice

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Brian Roth

First of all, I'm not a newbie when it comes to laying out PCBs...but it's been eons since I've done any.

Back in the 1970's, I taught myself the "art" using clear Mylar film sitting on a light table with a translucent grid beneath the Mylar, and using Bishop Graphics "stick on" footprints for DIPs, "doughnuts" for pads, and various widths of tape to "connect the dots"...all in 2X sizing.  A local shop catering to the printing industry would take my 2X tape-ups and reduce them down to actual size, so a PCB maker could then crank out the boards.  In a few cases, I did one-off "short runs" from the 1X negs/positives in my kitchen <g>.

A couple examples of PC boards used in a desk I built back in 1977, using the tape-up technique:

http://brianroth.com/projects/m77/proto/pre&eq-rear.jpg

http://brianroth.com/projects/m77/proto/pre&eq-front.jpg

ANYWAY, I dabbled a bit 11 years ago doing a relatively simple PSU card, using my fave CAD app, DesignCAD, and I attached a PDF to this missive showing what I did (and I have NO idea what the scaling factor is on that PDF).  It was intended to be "made in the kitchen", or via a vendor like this guy who makes PC boards from tape-up negs/positives:

http://www.farcircuits.net/

Now into the year 2014.  I've done a bunch of reading and research, then decided that Kicad looks like a good choice for me.

I am working on something a bit more complex, involving multiple discrete transistors, etc.  No 2000000000 pin microprocessors <g>.

I have read/watched multiple tutorials, and actually drew up a schemo for a very simple circuit with a single NPN transistor and a few resistors, annotated it, etc etc, then "plopped" it into PCBnew, then dragged around the various elements.  My result looks "plausible" <g>.

Here is my first of many questions.