Korg NanoKontrol DIY Modification Question

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JimJhn

I am going to take the guts of a Korg NanoKontrol and turn it into the brains of a custom midi-controller interface.

My plan is to use it as a machine-room brain with lots of RJ45 or 1/4" or 1/8" jacks, then attach pedals, small fader controllers, etc. as needed.

Basically just take the slide and rotary pots off of it, as well as the switches (and hopefully LEDs), and connect them to jacks that will plug into footswtiches, pedals, fader boxes, etc. as needed.

It's a nice platform because Korg did a nice job with the editor software to program it, and it gives me 18 possible faders and 18 possible switches (hopefully with LEDs).

I'm just getting started, but one of my first questions is about switches?

I want an 8-switch foot pedal. I can jumper the switches on the circuit board and attach remote momentary switches.

The switches on the circuit board I can jumper, then connect to a remote pedal with 8 momentary spst switches.

Would that mean, though, 16 wires going to the remote switch-pedal?

RJ45 cables have 8 wires, so I guess I could use two RJ45 cables, but could I somehow have all of the switches share the same ground or something, and get away with less cabling?

Thanks!

IMG_07789.jpgiToqNUXAmSNJEYdT.huge copy.jpgiToqNUXAmSNJEYdT.huge.jpegIMG_07789.jpgiToqNUXAmSNJEYdT.huge copy.jpgiToqNUXAmSNJEYdT.huge.jpeg

I had one of these (albeit the 2nd version) but it's no longer here or I would tear into it. Cool idea!