Looking for Eventide H3000 SELFTEST ROM

Help Support GroupDIY:

sahib

Well-known member
White Market Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2006
Messages
3,487
Location
Glasgow - UK
Have you contacted Eventide? I know there is nothing on their web site but perhaps you should e-mail them, if you have not done so.
 

living sounds

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 26, 2006
Messages
3,227
Location
Cologne, Germany
Good idea! I thought they had been bought by Harman or something, but it looks like the company still exists in its original form. Still would be open to get the ROM in Europe without the hazzle of shipping and customs...
 

living sounds

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 26, 2006
Messages
3,227
Location
Cologne, Germany
They're really quick to answer, but bad news, unfortunately:

"Hello,

I'm sorry, but we no longer have any parts available for the H3000, including the Self-test ROM. "
 

ratrace

Member
Joined
Jun 30, 2016
Messages
20
Location
france
Maybe send a message to Jonathan Prager from "studio piscine a tokyo", he is an early digital hardware expert and had been eventide oficial tech.
He said on his facebook page he is really busy, but maybe for some code line he could help you.

 

musika

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 11, 2009
Messages
324
Location
Oberlin, Ohio USA
...maybe contact David Kulka at Studio Electronics? I was just reading about his Eventide service yesterday.

 

Ike Zimbel

Well-known member
GDIY Supporter
Joined
Apr 17, 2011
Messages
161
Location
Toronto, Canada
Somewhere, I have a set of Eventide H3000 chips that were left over from...an upgrade? When I find them, I'll let you know what's written on them, maybe it will be what you need.
 

living sounds

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 26, 2006
Messages
3,227
Location
Cologne, Germany
Somewhere, I have a set of Eventide H3000 chips that were left over from...an upgrade? When I find them, I'll let you know what's written on them, maybe it will be what you need.
Thanks! But it sounds like that was the old OS... Just did the upgrade myself. ;-)

I have only good things to say about both David Kulka and Jonathan Prager, but it won't be fast or cheap if I ask them. I was hoping someone had a source for a few BIN files or could mail eproms to me quick. ;-)
 

plimousse

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 15, 2011
Messages
171
Location
Nantes - France
Hi,
Please P.M
Cheers,
P.

 
Last edited:

living sounds

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 26, 2006
Messages
3,227
Location
Cologne, Germany
So David Kulka has the ROM but won't sell it. Does anybody here have a copy? It appears to be truly unobtainum, despite 15,000 H3000 having been sold over more than 10 years and the ROMs (various revisions) mentioned in the service manual...
 

TheJames

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 18, 2005
Messages
362
So David Kulka has the ROM but won't sell it. Does anybody here have a copy? It appears to be truly unobtainum, despite 15,000 H3000 having been sold over more than 10 years and the ROMs (various revisions) mentioned in the service manual...
You would think that Eventide would still have the ROM image/binary and that sending this out, even if you had to sign an NDA, would be a non-issue.

I don't really begrudge Kulka for not wanting to give up the ROM either. He's probably busy and somewhat protecting his business.

Last week I noticed my H3K doing some weird stuff on a couple of presets. I need to perform a reset and see if that straightens it out. If not, I might be in need of the selftest ROM myself or have to box it up and ship it off to Kulka (which I really do not want to do).
 

living sounds

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 26, 2006
Messages
3,227
Location
Cologne, Germany
Yes, for example, there are analog feedback paths from the DA output to the AD input. Probably mostly used in pitch shift circuits (which also make use of the variable samplerate output). I am waiting for new DACs. Once they are installed and show no signs of problems in with the dual pitch shift algorithm, I will manually check if the channels behave the same with parameters changed.
 

TheJames

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 18, 2005
Messages
362
Yes, for example, there are analog feedback paths from the DA output to the AD input. Probably mostly used in pitch shift circuits (which also make use of the variable samplerate output). I am waiting for new DACs. Once they are installed and show no signs of problems in with the dual pitch shift algorithm, I will manually check if the channels behave the same with parameters changed.
I noticed a problem on Crystal Echoes. Just pulling it up, it started to generate a "tone." Changing presets made the tone go away. Muting the input to the H3K didn't change the tone issue on Crystal Echoes. The Dual-Pitch-Shift presets were fine. I feel like I'd need a service manual to even begin to sort this out. I'm hoping that just doing a "reset" fixes it.
 

living sounds

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 26, 2006
Messages
3,227
Location
Cologne, Germany
"Chrystal Echoes" uses the multi shift algorithm, that's a pitch shifter with feedback as well. Is it just on one channel? Something wrong in the feedback path of one of the channels sounds a likely culprit.
 
Top