Meta: This forum

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

G-Sun

I'm rather new to DIY and this forum.
After diving into the subject and the way of doing things, I must say:

It's really not easy to find the information I look for here.
Nice of you to have the meta-threads, and when it leads to a post started and maintained by an experienced person in order to help others, it works fine.

However:
- Half of the links are dead (Seems like you've changed the structure of the forum or something)
- Many (most?) links leads to a normal user-ask-for-help on a topic, relevant info may be found on page 15 or something, in the middle between two guys telling each other what they got for Christmas.
- I've gotten many answers like: "It's on the meta xx", and it's just so many links, to so many in-depth-technical documents (those that are not like above, that is). Fine, some day I might need that pile of links and that in-depth information. But as a newbie a just need a few simple answers to my simple questions.
(Ok if there is no simple answers, I need to be told so)

I understand long-time users gets tired of the same questions over and over, but, are you sure the information gathered here are newbie-friendly?

And then: There are some people here, that's really willing to walk that extra mile to help others and make this a nice place. You know who you are. Thanks a lot!  :D

I still consider myself a newbee as well. I am on this forum for about a year and a half and I have just finished my first project. And yes, the info is for newbees difficult to find. Yes, sometimes you have to read a lot of pages. Yes, some people are very willing to help, and some seem a lot less interested in doing so. Especially for someone without the background and with a different native tongue like me.