Metcal MX-500 - Favorite Tips (STTC)?

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MrG

Hey all,

Just upgrading from my Weller WTCPT to a used Metcal MX-500P-11. I’m new to Metcal so I’m trying to make the best decisions I can.

Regarding tips, the Metcal STTC line that fits the MX-500 seems to have a huge variety of tips, and I’m not finding a simple parallel to what I’m used to using, which is basically a long conical tip, but not extra fine.

So far, I’m thinking the STTC-143, or the STC-138.

This is for general point to point wiring of components, connectors, switches, PCB work, working on my vintage Neotek console. General studio rat stuff, non-micro work.

Thanks very much in advance!
MG

Firstly, congrats on the Metcal, I haven't used a better iron.

I'm on the SP200 system and have 3 or 4 tips that I choose from but my day to day is

http://www.okinternational.com/Hand-Soldering-Systems/id-SSC-725A/SSC%E2%80%88Soldering_Cartridge_Chisel

These don't work in the MX-500, but the general shape and size might be useful in tracking down what you need.  I could do everything with just this but I have some finer tips and one larger one that I break out for larger jobs.

STTC 137 is my favorite tip. 138 is similar. 136 is also very useful.
STTC 106 for SMD, 817 and 837 for higher temperatures and heavy duty.
Thermatronics  tips are also very good, it looks to me that they last little bit longer.
The older Metcal MX-RM3 hand piece is IMO better because newer MX H1 AV with metal body warms up too much after few hours of work.

ruairioflaherty said:
Firstly, congrats on the Metcal, I haven't used a better iron.

I'm on the SP200 system and have 3 or 4 tips that I choose from but my day to day is

http://www.okinternational.com/Hand-Soldering-Systems/id-SSC-725A/SSC%E2%80%88Soldering_Cartridge_Chisel