Mic Parts S-87 upgrade (capsule or?)

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

andivax

Hi guys, noob here! )
I just finished my first DIY which is Microphone parts S-87.
After soldering I have compared it with TLM103 ( just for fun), U87 vintage from 1970-s and U87 which Georg Neumann built himself. Both U87 in the great shape, serviced by best technitian in my country.
In comparison with Georg U87's S-87 has more lows (it's obvious on acoustic guitar), has bump on 8 kHz and dip on 6 kHz.
Highs is almost there (I have used 5600 capacitor in S-87 build to tame highs, 0.01 was too much). Both U87's have saturation which is not exist in transformless S-87.
I LOVE S-87 but it's always a way to make something better, so...
1. Is it worth to change it's capsule to 87 from Maiku or ADK or even BeezNees? Matt from Microphone parts said he is not recommended doing this. Why? No answer.
2. My dream is to have 251 type mic. So there is an options. Get T-12 from Microphone parts (414 + transformer). Get V-251 which is soldout and will be about 1500$ with shipment and taxes. Or get their RK-12 capsule and put it in S-87 (Matt said it's OK). But may be I should get Meiku/ADK/Tim Campbell capsule? Still don't know how it fits Shoeps schematic in S-87.

Guys please point me in the right direction, especially in that capsule thing!

PS If you are interested I can that mics comparison between S-87, U87's and 103.

Thank you in advance!!!

This is no easy task for several reasons. To nail 100% u87 sound you need exact same headbasket and same performing capsule. Simply because headbasket is part of the accoustic equation. Literally millimeters in difference make measurable changes in response. Try finding rode nt2s(first model) with accurate headbasket shape.