Mic pre with switchable doa's

pucho812

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 4, 2004
Messages
12,188
Reaction score
480
Location
third stone from the sun
Discuss pro's and cons to a 312 style  mic pre that has a switch allowing the operator to switch between 2 different doa's so that you are using one of the two for your mic. Worth it?
 

desol

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 20, 2005
Messages
2,063
Reaction score
50
I really don't think a DOA has THAT much influence on the freq response. I have six 312's with 5 new 2520's and 1 Studio Systems Division(ancient) 2520. No real big difference in how they sound...other than the new ones seem to have a bit more output.  :eek:

I'm thinking that if it were something that really had an effect on the sound, like for example; a transformer, then it probably would've been done by now. And, imo, there's far more important things to consider when tracking a 'song.

The less things to distract from the important stuff....the better.
 

pucho812

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 4, 2004
Messages
12,188
Reaction score
480
Location
third stone from the sun
thw switching transformer thing has been done. I as as I saw a mic pre at namm today that had switchable output transformers and switchable doa's. I didn't get into much of the doa part. When I refer to 312 style I mean single doa with in and out transformers. So the DOA switching would go from like a 2520  and 990, pick one to use. I am not convinced it's that much of a wow factor other then to the sluts. 
 

desol

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 20, 2005
Messages
2,063
Reaction score
50
pucho812 said:
So the DOA switching would go from like a 2520  and 990, pick one to use.

That's what i was understanding from your post. Might be a market for it......just make sure it has nice knobs and it'll sell.  :)

Maybe something that's switchable between two different circuits/topologies...say DOA and Germanium? Something that would make a significant difference to the sound...but still remain practical and usable.
 

pucho812

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 4, 2004
Messages
12,188
Reaction score
480
Location
third stone from the sun
I see what you are saying. It's not my idea. I much rather just have something with ic's that sounds good or doa's that sounds good, no switching involved.
 

ppa

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 18, 2009
Messages
1,147
Reaction score
47
Location
Italy
pucho812 said:
thw switching transformer thing has been done. I as as I saw a mic pre at namm today that had switchable output transformers and switchable doa's. I didn't get into much of the doa part. When I refer to 312 style I mean single doa with in and out transformers. So the DOA switching would go from like a 2520  and 990, pick one to use. I am not convinced it's that much of a wow factor other then to the sluts.

the matter is that only using trasparent trasformers you can hear important differences between two different DOA's. The 312 pre very often has not so trasparent trasformers. Moreover, the pre's circuit is important too, 312 is not so trasparent design. Something like M1 is good. 
 

pucho812

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 4, 2004
Messages
12,188
Reaction score
480
Location
third stone from the sun
Well the same unit also had switchable output transformers like you would find on shadow hills units. If you ask me all that switching is pointless. I figure instead of options just give people something that sounds good.

 

keefaz

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 27, 2006
Messages
736
Reaction score
13
Location
Paris (France)
Maybe switchable loads could be cool, I mean switchable resistors at doa output to load it more or less hard ?
 

ppa

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 18, 2009
Messages
1,147
Reaction score
47
Location
Italy
pucho812 said:
Well the same unit also had switchable output transformers like you would find on shadow hills units. If you ask me all that switching is pointless. I figure instead of options just give people something that sounds good.
In my opinion the out options should be 4:

1.  all steel trasformer
2.  50% nickel transformer
3.  80% nickel transformer
4.  transformerless.
 

ppa

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 18, 2009
Messages
1,147
Reaction score
47
Location
Italy
keefaz said:
Maybe switchable loads could be cool, I mean switchable resistors at doa output to load it more or less hard ?

good,

so adding a pot should be better
 

adeptusmajor

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 17, 2009
Messages
211
Reaction score
29
pucho812 said:
Well the same unit also had switchable output transformers...

At that point I'd rather just have two channels of preamp. Seems a waste to have almost an entire second channel worth of components sitting dormant in the box at all times.
 

ppa

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 18, 2009
Messages
1,147
Reaction score
47
Location
Italy
adeptusmajor said:
pucho812 said:
Well the same unit also had switchable output transformers...

At that point I'd rather just have two channels of preamp. Seems a waste to have almost an entire second channel worth of components sitting dormant in the box at all times.

ok, yes it is right, but two different normal pres do not give the same command on sound.

The shadow hill pres infact cost a bit more than the others for this reason, in the sense that the major cost of the 2nd transformer inside it is accepted for the greater ability that this pres offer to customers to handle sound. 







 

desol

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 20, 2005
Messages
2,063
Reaction score
50
The engineers at Abbey Road and Trident didn't need elaborate, endless features in order to make excellent sounding records. I don't know why it would be required now.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SYXAq-cnXRw
 

okgb

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 18, 2004
Messages
5,794
Reaction score
101
Location
Winnipeg Mb Canada
Decadent usage , and I'm guessing not worth the effort  , but wonder if you'd hear
the charactor by putting two in parallel ?
 

abechap024

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 8, 2009
Messages
2,303
Reaction score
149
Location
Provo, UT
Could be cool. But if you have multiple sets of Opamps and transformers, one begs the question...why not build more pres?

For a commercial type product it would be really cool to have 2 sonic flavors in one box, Though 2 different discrete opamps might not give very noticeable difference, a dirty discrete opamp (think early quad 8) and maybe a monolithic super clean opamp would. Just keep good in/out iron, like say jensen and i'm sure people would love it.
 

ppa

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 18, 2009
Messages
1,147
Reaction score
47
Location
Italy
desol said:
The engineers at Abbey Road and Trident didn't need elaborate, endless features in order to make excellent sounding records. I don't know why it would be required now.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SYXAq-cnXRw

OK, I agree with you,  is not needed a multiple out trasformers preamp to make nice sound, there are  many good pres with only one out trasformer in the market, and i think that a recording studio should have mainly these ones  but it do not exclude to have in the market preamps with switchable out trasformers, or DOAs, for who want have a multiconfigurable pre.
 

desol

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 20, 2005
Messages
2,063
Reaction score
50
Gotta keep the economy going somehow, right?  ???
 

ppa

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 18, 2009
Messages
1,147
Reaction score
47
Location
Italy
desol said:
Gotta keep the economy going somehow, right?  ???

yes, it is, marketing is important,  ;D but i think that this type of pre has its function.  8)

I personally just two days ago I have thought to make a preamp with the holes for 3 out trasformers.
I make some trasparent DOAs so I could offer a preamp with the sound of its trasformers. 
 

desol

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 20, 2005
Messages
2,063
Reaction score
50
I'm glad you have a sense of humour Pier, it's nice to see.  :D
 

omeiko

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 25, 2004
Messages
80
Reaction score
0
Location
Finland
Years ago I made a mic pre that had switchable 2520 and 990 style doa's with one set of tranformers. It had dual rev log pot and couple of relays for switching. It works fine but it's true that the difference in sound is actually pretty small. I rarely use the 990 because the 2520 has little more appropriate color with the api type transformers that I used.
 

Latest posts

Top